About the Board of Directors

The Heartland Workforce Investment Board, Inc. d/b/a CareerSource Heartland, Board of Directors provide policy and guidance along with the general direction of CareerSource Florida, Inc. the state's chief policy organization for all CareerSource Heartland's activities affecting DeSoto, Hardee, Highlands and Okeechobee counties.

The Board is mandated legislatively to have representatives from the following categories: private sector, education, labor, community-based organizations, economic development, veterans, and non-public post-secondary educational institutions.

Board Members

 Local Elected Officials – the Executive Board

The Honorable Mike Thompson – Chair / Chief Elected Official
Hardee County Board of County Commissioners

The Honorable Kelly Owens - Vice Chair
Okeechobee County Board of County Commissioners

The Honorable Terry Hill
DeSoto County Board of County Commissioners

The Honorable Don Elwell
Highlands County Board of County Commissioners

Board Officers: 2018-19

David Royal
The Nature Conservancy, Altamonte Springs

William J. Nielander
Nielander Law Firm P.A.

Yessenia Irizarry, Staffing Manager
Sunshine Staffing of Highlands County, Inc

Board Members

Russell Brown, Provost
Dixon Hendry Campus – Indian River State College

Mary Kay Burns, Owner
Burns Citrus

Kevin Cundiff
Operations General Manager, Florikan

Elizabeth Densmore, Human Resources Director & HRBP

Mary Dow, President
Dow Realty, Inc.

Joshua Exendine, Union Treasurer, Executive Board
Hardee County Professional Firefighters Union, Local 3471

Marivel Garza, Patient Access Supervisor

Stefanie Gonzalez del Real, RN/Staff Development Coordinator
Florida Health Care Association &
Lake Placid Health and Rehabilitation Center

Lois Hilton, Human Resources Director
DeSoto Memorial Hospital

Dr. Thomas C. Leitzel, President
South Florida State College

Dr. Brenda Longshore, Superintendent
School Board of Highlands County

Wayne Olson, Area Director
Florida DOE/Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Tara Poulton, Economic Development / Comm. Svcs. Division Dir.
DeSoto Board of County Commissioners

Gary Ritter, Assist. Director of Govt. & Community Affairs
Florida Farm Bureau Federation

Raymond D. Royce, Executive Director
Highlands County Citrus Growers Assn.

Donald Samuels
American Legion Post 2
Representing Military Veterans

Sherry Sapp, Director of Admissions
NBI Truck Driver Training

Megan Smith, President / CEO
Okeechobee County Economic Development Corporation

Sandra Swanson, Project Director
AARP Foundation, SCSEP

Lisa Thomas, Senior Vice President I / Regional Manager

Amanda Wilson, Community Development Administrator, Circuit 10
Dept. of Children & Families